Welcome to Treasure House
A visit to Beverley wouldn’t be complete without exploring the Treasure House. Free to visit, it is home to museum, art gallery, library, archives, tourist information office, gift shop and a café.
What is the treasure house?
The treasure house is part of the original town library and art gallery. The iconic building stands tall in the heart of Beverley on Champney Road, within easy walking distance of all the town centre car parks, railway and bus station. The tower and modern, environment-controlled stores were added in 2007 following a grant of £3.9m from the Heritage Lottery Fund.
At the Treasure House you’ll find East Riding Libraries, Museums and Archives. You can visit their websites to find out more about what each offer across the East Riding.
- Visit the East Riding Libraries Website.
- Visit the East Riding Museums website.
- Visit the East Riding Archives website.
Climb the tower
Access to the Treasure House viewing platform is currently closed as part of social distancing safeguarding measures.
Take the lift or stairs to the very top of the Treasure House for 360-degree views over the roof-tops of Beverley and the Minster. You can also borrow binoculars from the first floor reception, to view Beverley and the surrounding area from the tower.
Take a seat in the Coffee LoungeFind the perfect resting spot on the first floor. Along the corridor towards the art gallery, the Coffee Lounge serves sandwiches, paninis, delicious cakes, pastries and scones and a selection of drinks. Immerse yourself in the culture of the Treasure House, as items from the current exhibition are displayed along the corridor and within the lounge itself. Remember to look in the display case for the latest addition to the museum collections and archaeology.
Coffee Lounge Opening Times
Monday to Friday - 9.30am - 4pm
Saturdays - 9.30am - 3pm.
Find a treasure in the Gift Shop
Take a piece of local history and art home with you, with a selection of books and DVDs available in the gift shop. There may also be postcards, pocket money toys and a few gifts from travelling exhibitions available. Visit to find out more.
Books include art books from our displayed artists such as Fred Elwell, Walter Goodin and the Champney collection. There is also Beverley heritage books and booklets and catalogues for museum collections and exhibitions.
Remember the East Riding with the series of eight Historic East Riding DVDs. Lasting around 1 hour each, they are £5.99 each or get the whole set for £35 - saving more than £12!
Unfortunately these items are not available to buy online.
Beverley Tourist Information Centre
Up on the first floor, friendly staff are ready and waiting to help visitors discover the town. The market town has so much to offer, from a pleasant shopping experience to a rich cultural heritage. Stop by and chat to the staff who are fully trained to help with holiday accommodation, what’s on guides, ticket sales and much more. Find opening times on the East Riding Tourist Information Centre finder.
Find out more about tourism in Beverley onVisit Hull and East Yorkshire.
History of the Treasure House
In the late 19th century, public galleries were opening across the country. The trend was growing popular as galleries provided education and a morally uplifting purpose to local residents. In 1902 Beverley, local man John Champney approached the town council and offered to fund a building to house both a public library and museum and art gallery. Another local man, William Spencer donated further funds to the venture, buying the plot of land where the Edwardian building stands today.
The library and a picture gallery, showcasing the proud portraits of its benefactors, opened in 1906. Four years later the museum and art gallery was formally opened. The first exhibitions included an Italian Madonna, a portrait of Archbishop Rokeby by Angelica Kauffman R.A. and works by local artist Fred Elwell. As was customary of the time, museum relics were displayed alongside of the densely covered walls of art.
Seeing the popularity of the building, in 1928 Champney once again funded renovations to the building. This added a new wing, housing the reference library on the ground floor, and the second art gallery above it.
In 2007, the heritage lottery funding meant the creation of the East Riding Treasure House. This added the tower, with its spectacular views across the market town, archives and installed disabled access so everybody could enjoy the culture on display. The stores were upgraded with environmentally controlled technology, helping to preserve the collections of East Riding Museums for generations to come.
Pay and Display parking behind the Treasure House on Saturdays only. Nearest pay and display car park is Grayburn Lane. Limited on street parking is available within easy walking distance. Disabled parking bays directly outside both entrances.
Visitors arriving by coach or minibus can be dropped off at the coach drop-off point on Lord Roberts Road, next to the Magistrates Court. It is approximately a 1 minute walk around the corner onto Champney Road to the Treasure House.
Street level flat entrance, automatic doors, disabled parking bays, wheelchair accessible toilets. Only assistance dogs are allowed on site.
It is a five minute walk to the train station and bus station in Beverley.
- Radar Key Toilet
- Breastfeeding friendly
- Free Wi-Fi
- Gift Shop
- Safe Places Scheme
- Hot Drinks Machine
- Meeting Rooms for Hire